top of page

Egan Gets Victory In Midwest Engine Service 30

Nick Egan was in the right place at the right time to pick up the win in the 30 lap feature for the Midwest Trucks. As the leaders made contact ahead of him on the final lap, Egan was able to keep his eyes on the finish line and get the victory.

Egan and Derek Doerr paced the field of eighteen trucks to the green flag. The two raced side by side followed by Dave Edwards, Kevin Knuese, and James Swan. On lap 4 the caution flag came out when trucks the trucks of Michael Bachaus, Reagan May, and Gabe Sommers got together coming out of turn four.

Egan led for one lap following the restart before the trucks of Doerr and Knuese got together in turn two bringing out the yellow flag and sending both drivers to the tail of the field.

Egan and Edwards raced side by side on the restart with Swan and Tommy Pecaro directly behind the front row. On lap 6 Mike Corvo moved past Pecaro to take the fourth position. On lap 9 Egan took a two truck length advantage with Corvo taking the second position from Edwards.

At the half-way point Egan’s lead was four lengths over Corvo who was doing his best to hold off Swan. Moving up through the field after being sent to the rear was Knuese who was now up to sixth.

With ten laps to go, Egan had a 0.56 seconds advantage over Corvo who was starting to close the gap. On lap 22 Corvo pulled to the inside of Egan and was quickly joined by Swan in a three truck battle for the lead.

Two laps later Corvo captured the lead over Egan who was unable to hold off Swan for second. But quickly up to join the leaders was Knuese who was on a mission before he spun on the backstretch bringing out the caution with four laps to go.

Corvo brought the field back to the green single file style and was able to maintain his lead over Swan, Egan, Pecaro, and Edwards.

It looked like Corvo was headed to victory lane, but on the final lap Corvo got loose coming out of turn two giving Swan the opportunity he needed to take the lead, but the two made contact in turn four sending Swan up the track and opening the door for Egan who picked up the win.

“This is hard to describe…it’s hard to put into words. This is so great, it’s something you dream about,” said Egan.

Fast qualifier was Kevin Knuese with a lap of 18.958 (94.947 mph). Heat wins went to Rock Christiansen and Nick Egan.

30 Lap Feature: (1-10) Nick Egan, Tommy Pecaro, Dave Edwards, Rick Corso, Dan Jung, Michael Bachaus, Ross Christiansen, Parker Retzlaff, Derek Doerr, Kevin Knuese (11-18) Jerry Wood, Rock Christiansen, Mike Corvo, James Swan, Daniel Calhoun, Danielle Behn, Reagan May, Gabe Sommers

8 Lap Heat #1: (1-8) Rock Christiansen, Ross Christiansen, Danielle Behn, Gabe Sommers, Jerry Wood, Parker Retzlaff, Dan Jung, Daniel Calhoun

8 Lap Heat #2: (1-10) Nick Egan, Derek Doerr, Tommy Pecaro, Dave Edwards, James Swan, Kevin Knuese, Mike Corvo, Rick Corso, Reagan May, Michael Bachaus

Qualifying: (1-10) Kevin Knuese, Michael Bachaus, James Swan, Mike Corvo, Dave Edwards, Reagan May, Rick Corso, Tommy Pecaro, Derek Doerr, Nick Egan (11-18) Gabe Sommers, Dan Jung, Danielle Behn, Jerry Wood, Ross Christiansen, Parker Retzlaff, Rock Christiansen, Daniel Calhoun

VDL Fuel Systems Hard Charger Award: Dan Jung

Five Star Stock Car Bodies Hard Luck Award: Gabe Sommers

Recent Posts
bottom of page