top of page

๐—•๐—ฒ๐—ต๐—ป ๐—•๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐˜๐˜€ ๐—ง๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—•๐—ผ๐˜†๐˜€ ๐—œ๐—ป ๐—š๐—ฎ๐—ป๐—ฑ๐—ฟ๐˜‚๐—ฑ ๐—–๐—ต๐—ฒ๐˜ƒ๐—ฟ๐—ผ๐—น๐—ฒ๐˜ ๐Ÿฑ๐Ÿฌ

(Sun Prairie, WI) This past Saturday The Midwest Truck Seriesreturned to Dells Raceway Park as a part of the Falloween Special. A stellar field of 27 Trucks were on hand to take battle. Leading the way in 509/More Freakin Power Qualifying was Russ Hansen with a lap of 14.281. Up next was three heat races with Parker Cain winning heat one, Brad JJ Mueller winning heat two and Todd Kluever winning heat three. With 27 Trucks a last chance race was needed. Winning the last chance race was Mueller with Kluever second and Mike Reichenberger rounding out the top three.

In the 50 lap feature it was Jeff Holtz and Mike Meyerhofer leading the field to green. Holtz would get the jump on Meyerhofer and lead lap 1 with Danielle Behn who started third getting by Meyerhofer as well on the opening lap. Lap 7 would see Behn take the lead over Holtz with Derek Doerr in third, Paul Shafer jr. in fourth and Russ Hansen in fifth. Behn and Holtz would continue to battle for the next 14 laps. While that was going on Shafer would work his way past Doerr with James Swan working his way past Hansen for 5th. The first caution would come out on lap 21 as contact between Weston Marthaler and Tyler Noble would send the two around on the backstretch. Restarts would be the name of the game in this 50 lap feature. On the restart Behn would hold on to the lead with Holtz getting 2nd and Hansen who chose the inside line on the restart moving up to 3rd with Shafer falling back to 4th and Eugene Gregorich III moving into 5th. Lap 26 would see Gregorich move into 4th with Mueller moving into 5th. Lap 30 would see Hansen and Gregorich get by Holtz on the inside with Mueller holding strong in 5th. Lap 36 would see Kluever get into the top 5 as he got past Swan and Mueller. Lap 37 would see the caution come out for Kody Hubred going around in turn 4 after a radiator hose came loose causing him to go around. On the restart Holtz would go to the outside. On the restart Holtz would hold off Behn and lead lap 38. The caution would come out again on lap 39 as contact between Chester Ace and Kevin Zielezinski sent Zielezinski around on the backstretch. As the field was slowing down for the caution Hansen lost control of his Truck and Swan got collected with nowhere to go. On the final restart of the race Behn would hold onto the lead with Holtz 2nd, Gregorich 3rd, Kevin Knuese 4th, and Kluever 5th. The field would remain the same until lap 44 when Knuese and Doerr would make contact on the front stretch. Both parties would stay rolling so the green stayed out with Knuese pulling off the track. Behn would continue to hold onto the lead and take the checkered with Holtz in 2nd, Gregorich 3rd, Kluever 4th and Mueller rounding out the top 5.

Zielezinski worked his way back to 9th after having to go to the back. This would give him a 1 point advantage in the Clutch Energy Rookie of the Year award over Gregorich giving Zielezinski the Rookie of the Year championship. Swan already had the championship locked up heading into the Dells earning him his 5th championship in the series. That is a wrap on the 2022 season for the Midwest Truck Series. We look forward to seeing you in 2023.


Recent Posts
bottom of page