top of page


The Midwest Truck Series returned to action Saturday May 21st at the State Park Speedway located at the foot of Rib Mountain. 25 Trucks were on hand ready to do battle. Unfortunately during practice Dillon Scott spun and made hard contact with the wall in turns 3&4 ending his day early. Tye Wilke and Sean Eurick also faced mechanical issues ending their days early.

Leading the way in 509/More Freakin Power qualifying was Jeff Holtz with a lap of 14.503. Up next was 3 heat races for the Midwest Truck Series. Taking the wins were Tyler Noble, Eugene Gregorich III and Ryan Braseth.

The 50 lap A main was led to green by New Lenox, Illinois and Clutch Energy Rookie of the Year Point Standings Leader Kevin Zielezinski along with Utica’s Kody Hubred. On the start Hubred got the jump out front from the outside and took the early lead with James Lynch in second and Zielezinski dropping to third. On lap 6 the first caution of the race came out as Zielezinski went around in turn 3. On the restart it was Bryce Miller coming away with the lead as Hubred was second, Lynch third Kevin Knuese fourth and Brandon Reichenberger rounding out the top 5. The top 5 remained the same for the next 30 laps as Miller remained out front and worked through heavy lap traffic. As all this was going on Clutch Energy Rookie of the Year competitor Aaron Moyer was in 6th with Jeff Holtz in 7th and James Swan in 8th. The caution flag came out once more on lap 37 as Tyler Noble went around in turn 1. With 13 laps to go this set up a double file restart. On the restart Miller got the advantage over Hubred and pulled away going down the backstretch. Lap 40 saw trouble for Reichenberger as he pulled off while running 5th. Lap 41 saw Lynch get past Hubred for the second spot with Knuese in 4th and Holtz rounding out the top 5. The top 5 remained the same for the remainder of the race with Miller taking the checkered flag with Lynch in second, Hubred in third, Knuese in 4th and Holtz in 5th. However after post race tech Holtz was DQ’d for illegal axels giving 5th place to James Swan.

James Swan still leads the 2022 point standings by just 6 points over Kevin Knuese, while Kody Hubred jumped to third, James Lynch 5th and Kevin Zielezinksi holding onto 5th even with his troubles in the feature.

Zielezinksi's point lead in the Clutch Energy Rookie of the Year standings took a bit of a hit and he now leads Aaron Moyer by only 42 points and Eugene Gregorich III by 56.

The Midwest Truck Series is back in action once again Monday May 30th at Golden Sands Speedway to complete the Central Wisconsin Swing. The Memorial Day Special is also the first qualifier for the much anticipated Pit Crew BBQ Dash For Cash Race. After that the Midwest Truck Series will be at the Historic Milwaukee Mile on Father’s Day June 19th. For more information about the Midwest Truck Series visit


Recent Posts
bottom of page