top of page

๐—ฆ๐˜„๐—ฎ๐—ป ๐—–๐—ฎ๐—ฝ๐˜๐˜‚๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐˜€ ๐—›๐—ถ๐˜€๐˜๐—ผ๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐—ฐ ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฌ๐˜๐—ต ๐—–๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐—ฉ๐—ถ๐—ฐ๐˜๐—ผ๐—ฟ๐˜†

It had been a year since the #97 of James Swan had parked in victory lane, something which fans had become accustom to seeing over the past 10 years. Marshfield Motor Speedway had been good to Swan in the past, and that would continue in 2023.

The night started off with Danielle Behn picking up her first career 608 Graphics qualifying Fast Time Award. Nick Roehl, Aaron Moyer, and James Lynch all picked up wins in the Pit Crew BBQ Heats.

Kevin Zielezinksi and Bryce Miller brought the field to green in the Hub City 50. Bryce Miller would jump out to the early lead as his #11 looked strong on the outside. Miller would continue to pace the field with Zielezinksi chasing him followed by Eugene Gregorich III, Jeff Holtz and James Swan from his 5th place starting spot. The first caution would fly on lap 8 when trouble erupted down the backstretch collecting Bobby Selsing, Tyler Nobel, and Nick Roehl. Nick would enact the โ€œGentlemanโ€™s Agreementโ€ claiming fault for the incident giving the other two their spot back.

Miller and Zielezinski would bring the field back to green. Miller would quickly take back the lead. Swan who had worked his way up to 3rd would begin his pursuit of Zielezinski for the second spot. Danielle Behn who started from the 9th position had made it up to 6th by lap 10. A caution would fly on lap 17 when Nick Quinnell spun out of Turn 2. Miller would choose the bottom on the choose cone while Swan would roll to the outside. On the restart Miller would jump back out to the lead while Swan would have to battle Zielezinski who attempt to follow Miller through and reclaim the 2nd spot. Swan would eventually clear the #38 and set his sights on Miller for the top spot.

Swan quickly closed the cap and on lap 26 slide past Miller. From there the 97 was on cruise control navigating lap traffic. Behn worked herself up into 3rd on lap 23 and 8 laps later took over 2nd. It was now a battle of two drivers with the most starts in the Midwest Truck Series for the final 19 laps. However, Behn simply did not have enough to track down Swan.

When the RC Paver Checkers flew, it was Swan picking up his second win in a row at Marshfield, his 20th Career Midwest Truck Series victory, and snapping a 15 race winless streak. Danielle Behn crossed the line in second, Miller would hang on to 3rd, Zielezinski finished 4th recording another top 5. Jeff Holtz who had made up 40 points on James Swan in the championship battle in the last 3 races rounded out the top 5.

The Championship point battle continues to shuffle each week. Swan now sits 52 points a head of Jeff Holtz, Bryce Miller is 58 points back, James Lynch who struggled to find speed in the feature falls to 80 points back and Danielle Behn rounds out the top 5 84 back.

Up next for the Midwest Truck Series is the second stop at Madison International Speedway joining the ASA Midwest Tour for the Annual Howie Lettow Memorial in the Sassy Cow Creamery 30 Friday August 25th.

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products products Outside The Top 10 Random Draw: Tyler Noble Fastest Lap Of The Feature: Bryce Miller (19.979) Margin of Victory: 2.857 Biggest Mover: Danielle Behn (+7)


Recent Posts
bottom of page