Corvo Takes Triple Crown Win At State Park

June 17, 2017



(Milwaukee, WI) It was Round I of the E3 Spark Plugs Triple Crown Challenge Series at State
Park Speedway in Wausau, WI, on a beautiful Thursday evening at the base of Rib Mountain,
that Mike Corvo picked up his second career Midwest Truck Series win over James Swan
once again, in almost a complete replay from a week ago at Madison International Speedway,
when the two tangled in turn three on the final circuit.
Corvo who after winning his Weaver Auto Parts qualifying heat earlier in the evening put
himself on the pole for the start of the 50 lap event along with rookie Gabe Sommers to his
Corvo and Sommers would battle side by side for a couple of laps, before Corvo took the lead
during the event presented by Kim’s BS Sauce, A&A Lock, Brickner Family Auto Group and
Wehrs Machine and Racing Products.
Corvo would pull away as Swan worked his way from mid pack as Danielle Behn moved into
second and gradually closed in on Corvo, but she just never had the truck to battle Corvo for
the top spot before, settling into the fourth spot at the drop of the checkered flag.
Rookie Parker Retzlaff would also follow suit during the early stages of the event and quickly
moved up to third.
After the caution flew for Reagan May in turn four on lap 23. It was a restart near the have
way point, that changed things up as drivers advanced from deep in the field to the front.
On the restart it was Corvo and Swan bringing the field back to the green flag as Corvo took
the lead over Swan, Behn, Retzlaff and Sommers, with 2016 Champion Dave Edwards
working his way into the top 10 in sixth.
As Swan kept Corvo in his sights during the closing laps, looking for that right time to go for
the lead, lap traffic started to come into play during the final laps for the top five. It was with
three to go when contact with Swan in lap traffic, sent the fans to their feet to watch James
make a huge save in turn one, which allowed Corvo to pull out to a comfortable lead with two
laps to go. Retzlaff took advange of the situation also to get around Behn for third.
But it was Corvo cruising to the win during the event at Wausau over Swan, Parker Retzlaff,
Danielle Behn and Gabe Sommers.
Mike Corvo and Rick Corso both picked up wins during their Weaver Auto Parts qualifying
heats. Veteran driver Jerry Wood set fast time to win the Racing Radios Fast Qualifier Award
presented by Weaver Auto Parts with a 14.437 over James Swan’s 14.439.
The Series takes a needed break, before heading to LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway for the
2nd Annual Firecracker 40 on Friday night June 30th, Nick Egan is the defending champion of
the event. It will be Round VI of the 2017 for the Midwest Truck Series and Round II of the
TUNDRA Midwest Truck Series Championship Competition. Mark your Calendars to be there
before enjoying your 4th of July Weekend.
Page 2
Racing Radios Fast Qualifier Award presented by Weaver Auto Parts: Jerry Wood 14.437
Hoosier Racing Tires Drivers Award: Collin Slife
Weaver Auto Parts Qualifying Heat #1
1. Rick Corso
2. Nick Egan
3. Collin Slife
4. Dave Edwards
5. Rock Christiansen
6. Tommy Pecaro
7. Reagan May
8. Levon VanDerGeest
Weaver Auto Parts Qualifying Heat #2
1. Mike Corvo
2 Gabe Sommers
3. Danielle Behn
4. Ross Christiansen
5. Parker Retzlaff
6. Derrick Doerr
7. Kevin Knuese
8. Jerry Wood
9. James Swan
10. Luke Fenhaus
E3 Spark Plugs Triple Crown Challenge Series 50 presented by Kim’s BS Sauce
1. Mike Corvo
2. James Swan
3. Parker Retzlaff ®
4. Danielle Behn
5. Gabe Sommers ®
6. Kevin Knuese
7. Ross Christiansen
8. Dave Edwards
9. Jerry Wood
10. Luke Fenhaus
11. Derrick Doerr ®
12. Tommy Pecaro
13. Collin Slife ®
14. Nick Egan
15. Reagan May
16. Levon VanDerGeest ®
17. Rock Christiansen ®
18. Rick Corso

Please reload

Featured Posts

2019 Midwest Truck Series Banquet

December 17, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload